RSS Feed

The Best Pancakes We’ve Ever Made

Oh. My. Word.

This post is going to be very difficult for me to write, because I’m forced to stare at these pancakes over and over again, and when something that beautiful is staring you right in the face, and their memory is so fresh in your mind (aka yesterday’s breakfast) it is very difficult to think straight. Twice now I’ve caught myself just staring at them.

Blueberry Banana Pancakes. Though I should actually call them Blueberry Banana Protein Pancakes, because they’re made with chickpea flour, which packs a whopping 22g of protein per 100g  of flour. Not to mention it’s an excellent source for your B vitamins, magnesium, potassium, fiber, and a whole host of other vitamins and minerals. [source]

 

To be truthful, you’d be crazy not to make these pancakes! The pancake itself isn’t super sweet, but we found it to be perfect once the toppings were added.  If you prefer a sweeter pancake, feel free to add any sort of sweetener you’d like! :)

Om-nom-nom-nom… mmmmm…. pancakes…..

Blueberry Banana Pancakes

Prep time: 5min

Cook time: 10min

Serves: 2-3

Ingredients:

1 c. chickpea flour

1 tbsp. baking powder

1 tsp. cinnamon

1 c. milk

1 egg, whipped

1  banana, mashed

1/2 tsp banana extract (optional)

3/4 c. fresh blueberries

Directions:

Heat your skillet to a medium heat.

In a large bowl, combine dry ingredients and set aside.

In another bowl, combine all wet ingredients and add to the dry, mixing until just combined. Stir in blueberries.

Grease your skillet, then spoon on the batter, making medium-small pancakes.

When bubbles start to form and the edges look cooked, flip.  Cook until lightly browned.

Spread banana slices and blueberry jam on one pancake, top with a second and repeat until you have a stack that’s four pancakes high. Top the stack with more banana slices, fresh blueberries, blueberry jam, cinnamon and yogurt, if desired.

- Julie

Have you ever used chickpea flour?

What’s your favourite kind of pancake?

About twosaucysisters

We are twin sisters who are on a mission to create delicious, healthy food to help others live healthier, happier lives!

23 responses »

  1. I made these with frozen, (steamed) butternut squash, because I didn’t have a banana on hand, and they were great. I’m sure pumpkin would be great too. Just adjust wet/dry as needed. Mine were a bit too wet, but still great. I made vegan version with chia “egg”.

    Reply
  2. Where do you get chickpea flour? I live in the country…can you get it on-line?

    Reply
  3. Yum! I’m making these for a gluten-free friend, but don’t have any maple syrup. What do you recommend as a sweet topping instead? Thank you!

    Reply
  4. Barbara Hambleton

    I made these pancakes tonight in honour of Shrove Tuesday. They are not only nutricious, but delicious too. I will definitely make them again! Thanks girls. <3

    Reply
  5. Pingback: [Not-So] Fat Tuesday « twosaucysisters

  6. Pingback: WIAW: Blueberries! « twosaucysisters

  7. Pingback: A La Mode « twosaucysisters

  8. That looks amazing! I ve never tried american pancakes always fearing that they won’t turn out very pretty. But those look sooo delicious

    Reply
  9. Oh my gosh, these look absolutely DECADENT. And I love that they’ve got a protein boost! My favorite pancakes will always be pumpkin spice, but these are giving ‘em a run for their money ;)

    Reply
  10. I bet these were amazing! I love all the protein – I’ll have to try these out.

    I used chickpea flour a lot to make socca (basically a savory pancake – recipes on my blog, socca pizzas, and vegan chickpea “quiche.”

    Reply
  11. These look great! I’m always up for trying new pancake recipes, thanks for sharing. :-)

    Reply
  12. These pancakes look delicious! I eat chickpeas all the time but haven’t tried chickpea flour…i wanna give it a shot though after seeing this recipe :)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 870 other followers

