RSS Feed

Guest Post: Molly and a Pumpkin Spice Late

Hey 2SS readers! We have a special treat for you today: a guest post! Yesterday we mentioned how busy we’ve been lately, especially this week, and then our friend Molly graciously offered to do a guest post for us! Molly is a great cook, photographer and writer, and has a fabulous blog on which she covers a lot of topics that need to be talked about but many are too afraid to. Here’s Molly!

Hi Everyone,

Brittany and Julie were kind enough to let me post on their Tasteful (In more ways than one) blog, and I hope that I can share with you a wonderful post…even if I am only one person!

My name is Molly Schoo and I am a blogger at www.disablingthelbabel.wordpress.com! Throughout my blog, I advocate for mental health rights by reducing the stigma attached to many illnesses such as Eating Disorders and Depression. Every now and then I post a yummy recipe, because Healthy Eating is essential for a Healthy Mind. I met Julie and Brittany when I attended Brescia University College for an overnight visit. Needless to say, our friendship began in the cafeteria where we were served brown rice, peas and haddock. (Ironically we all chose to drink chocolate soy milk on the side even though I was not with the girls when they got their meal- Yes girls, I still remember the meal I ate when I first met you both). I knew from that moment on, that I had many similarities to the twins and that I must become friends with these talented athletes. It made perfect sense since they were in Food and Nutrition, my dream program. Brittany and Julie continue to inspire me with their running, recipes and time management skills.

This year, I took a year off of University (I ended up taking a double major in Health Sciences and Dietetics at Western/ Brescia University) and am a Barrista at Starbucks. While I am loyal to my work, I often like to experiment in my own kitchen at home. Don’t get me wrong the Pumpkin Spice Latte at Starbucks can be fairly healthy (Steamed Milk, Espresso and Pumpkin syrup topped with optional Whipped Cream and Pumpkin Spice) however I knew I could replicate the recipe with an even healthier twist.

Feel free to try mine out.

A Double Take (Double People) on a Pumpkin Spice Latte

Ingredients

2 cups non-dairy milk (I prefer soy milk, but almond milk works fine as well)

1/2 cup canned pumpkin

2 tablespoon cocoa powder

1 teaspoon pumpkin pie spice (or All Spice)

1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract

Optional: Stevia or another sweetener to taste

Optional: ½ tsp of instant coffee mixed with 4 tbsp. hot water

Instructions

  1. Combine all ingredients except sweetener in blender.
  2. Blend at medium speed until smooth.
  3. If the sweetness is not to your liking, add sweetener to taste and blend until combined.
  4. Pour into a saucepan and heat, stirring at regular intervals, until steaming. Pour into two mugs and serve.

I thought this recipe was all too perfect after reading their WIAW Pumpkin edition. After all, the girls made Pumpkin granola which clearly needs a side latte to wake them up. Why not add more pumpkin?

Well, that’s all for now. I hope you didn’t miss Julie and Brittany too much. I am so grateful for having been allowed to share one of my favourite recipes with 2SS fans!

❤ Molly

Have you ever had a Pumpkin Spice Latte from Starbucks before? If not, get one fast because Starbucks is now introducing their Christmas Holiday Drinks.

Thanks for the fabulous recipe Molly! Now that you have all read this post, we highly recommend you cozy up with this late and head on over to Molly’s blog for some good reading!

About twosaucysisters

We are twin sisters who are on a mission to create delicious, healthy food to help others live healthier, happier lives!

8 responses »

  1. Nice post today. I checked out the blog and it is a great cause blog, really enjoyed it. Have a great day!

    Reply
  2. This is a great post! I’m thinking about doing a food/nutrition science masters or PHD program post grad. It is just something I’m really passionate about and reading about everyone else in the blogosphere in the field makes me even more interested in checking it out!

    Reply
  3. Thank you again Brittany and Julie!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 878 other followers

