RSS Feed

Not Your Average Cookie…

Do you like cookies?

Wait, that’s a silly question- of course you do!  Really, who DOESN”T love cookies? In fact, I can sit here confidently and say that if someone were to tell me that they didn’t like cookies, I would not believe them.

Cookies are great because they can have the decadence of a dessert served at a high-end restaurant, while at the same time having that casual, comforting, just-like-grandma-used-to-make feeling about them.  They are also the ultimate crowd-pleaser: they can be crunchy, crispy, chewy, or soft, flat or puffy.  They can be your classic round cookie, or they can be cut into any number of shapes, or can be spread with icing and stuck together to make a sandwich cookie!  And of course, when it comes to cookie flavours, well, the possibilities are endless!  They are also quick and easy to make, and can be packed up and taken with you- no plates or utensils required!

And you know what else?

They can be healthy, too!  Ok, ok, I know what you’re thinking- why bother make a healthy cookie?  I mean, cookies aren’t meant to be healthy- they’re supposed to be a decadent yet comforting dessert, like you just said!  I know, but the thing is, I just love cookies too much, and I just would not be able to satisfy my cookie-craving on a good conscious if I ate cookies like that every day.

So what do I do?  Come up with a healthy cookie recipe, of course!  However, this is much easier said than done.  It is next to impossible to achieve the same consistency and texture of a cookie made with butter or shortening and sugar, without the butter, shortening or sugar!  You can see the odds were against me on this one.

But you know what?  I think I’ve done it!  No, my cookie does not taste just like those sinfully delicious ones that grandma used to keep in jar on her kitchen counter for you, but they’re really tasty, and they satisfy my cookie craving!  Even my dad, who is a die-hard lover of my mom’s not-healthy-in-any-way but DELICIOUS cookie recipe (maybe I’ll give you the recipe someday…if you’re lucky!) loved these.  In fact, I’m pretty sure I saw him sneaking back to the fridge yesterday for a second helping… 🙂

These cookies are low in sugar and fat, and have a a bit of a cake-like texture.  They are also high in protein, because of the secret ingredient which you’ll have to read the recipe to find out!

If you are a cookie-lover, I encourage you to make these, and if you’re not… I don’t believe you. 🙂

Chocolate Chick Cookies

Prep Time: 10 min

Bake time: 15 min

Yield: 24 cookies

Ingredients

1 c. whit rice flour*

1c. whole wheat flour*

1 c. Oat flour*

1 tsp baking soda

1/2 tsp salt

1 c. chickpeas, cooked and rinsed

1 c. dates, softened**

2 eggs

2 tsp vanilla extract

1 tbsp honey (or other liquid sweetener)

1/c. milk

2 tbsp. all-natural peanut butter (or other nut butter)

1 tbsp coconut oil (or other cooking oil)

1/2-3/4 c. semi-sweet chocolate chips

Directions:

Preheat your oven to 350C

In a large bowl, combine the dry ingredients.

Combine all the wet ingredients (excluding the chocolate chips) in your food processor and blend until smooth.

Add wet ingredients to the dry and combine.  Stir in chocolate chips.

Drop batter in heaping tablespoons onto a prepared baking sheet, and flatten well with a fork.

Bake in the center of the oven for 15 minutes, or until the bottoms are slightly browned.

*I used a combination of flours because I didn’t want to use all whole wheat flour, as I thought that would make the batter too dense.  I also used some gluten-free flour in the mix (the rice flour) to cut down on the gluten content to prevent the cookies from becoming too tough. Fell free to experiment with your own flour mix!

**To soften dates, cover them with water and let them soak for several ours.  If you don’t have that much time, place them in a microwave-safe dish and add a tiny bit of water to the bottom of them dish.  Microwave on high for 30-45 seconds.  Allow them to cool a bit before adding them to the rest of the wet ingredients.

~Brit

What is your favourite type of cookie?

Have you ever tried making your own version of a healthy cookie?

About twosaucysisters

We are twin sisters who are on a mission to create delicious, healthy food to help others live healthier, happier lives!

5 responses »

  1. Pingback: Cookie Comfort | twosaucysisters

  2. Pingback: Our first Product Review+Recipe Roundup « twosaucysisters

  3. Pingback: Store-Bought Inspiration « twosaucysisters

  4. I MUST TRY THESE! I wanted to make something with chickpeas, but everything I find is chickpea FLOUR! I wanted to use actual chickpeas though! GREAT RECIPE BABES!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

