RSS Feed

Maple Pumpkin Pie Almond Butter

Did you know that peanut butter is consumed in about 89 percent of American households? (source)  Even more amazing to learn is that by the time the average child graduates high school, he or she will have consumed on average 1 500 peanut butter and jelly sandwiches! (source)

As a child, I was not a huge fan of peanut butter and jelly sandwiches for lunch.  Without fail, by the time lunch rolled around, my bread was always soggy. Gross.

I loved peanut butter, though, and for a few years my Sunday lunch was always a peanut butter an banana sandwich, which, by the way, is still delicious and manages to occasionally find its way onto my plate. (But never in my lunch box, brown bananas = undesirable)

Like most kids, I grew up eating your traditional Kraft or Skippy stuff, but one day my mom brought home some all-natural, no sugar added peanut butter.  You know, the kind that’s basically roasted peanuts ground up and thrown into a jar.

The first time I tried it, I actually didn’t really like it that much.  I guess I missed the extra sugar/salt/ whatever else they put in peanut butter.  But I kept eating it because I wanted to be like mom!  It didn’t take long, though, and I was hooked.  I have been a peanut butter  addict lover ever since!

After all this talk about peanut butter, I feel like now is a good time to tell you that this post is not about peanut butter at all.  My focus is actually almond butter!

Image

Mmmmm… roasty-toasty almonds!

For a very long time, Julie and I were somewhat adverse to trying almond butter, because we both just loved peanut butter so much!  Is it possible to “cheat” on a food item? Because that’s what I felt like I would be doing if I spread almond butter on my toast instead of the peanut kind.

I don’t remember the exact moment when we decided branch out and try it, but am I sure glad we did!

The thing I love about almond butter (aside from the fact that its amazingly rich and delicious) is its versatility. Its a bit milder in flavour, so it lends such an incredible richness to recipes, without significantly affecting the flavour of whatever it is I’m trying to make.

Its mildness also makes it perfect for a little experimentation 😉

So the other day when I decided to make some almond butter, I wanted to give it a little pizzazz.  Here was my thought process: “Mmmm, maple almond butter would be good.  You know what else is yummy? Pumpkin pie! Hmmm maple pumpkin pie almond butter? Yes. I’m  a genius.”

Image

So I still love peanut butter, but I think I can make a little room in my heart for almond butter, too 🙂

Maple Pumpkin Pie Almond Butter

Image

Time: 25 min

Ingredients:

2 c. almonds

1 tsp cinnamon

1/2 tsp each nutmeg and ginger

1/8 tsp each cloves and allspice

Directions:

Preheat oven to 350C

Toss almonds in maple syrup and spices.

Roast almonds for 15 minutes, stirring every 5 minutes.

Allow to cool for  few minutes, then blend in your food processor until smooth and drippy.

~Brit

What is your favourite kind of nut butter?

About twosaucysisters

We are twin sisters who are on a mission to create delicious, healthy food to help others live healthier, happier lives!

4 responses »

  1. Pingback: Peanut Butter Lovin’ « twosaucysisters

  2. Pingback: Mmmm Sauce! « twosaucysisters

  3. oh my goodness! this looks fabulous!!!! I really want to make my own nut butter actually 🙂 I think you inspired me 😉 hehehehe

    Ok, so I USED to be obsessed with almond butter, but now you know what I am hooked on!? Hazelnut butter! PLEASE try it xo

    Reply

Leave a Reply

