RSS Feed

A Summer Wish

When it comes to kitchen appliances and gadgets, Julie and I have a long wish list.  It includes a food dehydrator, a mandolin, a rice cooker would be nice, and honestly I think our lives would be complete if we had a Vitamix.

But all summer we have found ourselves constantly wishing we had one thing: An ice cream maker!

All you have to do is peruse foodgawker or tastespotting for a couple minutes, and I guarantee your mouth will be watering over all the delicious ice cream creations that some amazing food bloggers have come up with.  And for some reason, I click on them every time to read the recipe and imagine how awesome it would be to make my own version at home.  Apparently I really enjoy torturing myself.

You can imagine my excitement then, when I find recipes that don’t use an ice cream maker.  I do a little happy dance all the way to the kitchen.

So of course, Julie and I had to come up with our own version.

And of course it being August in Niagara, it had to be peach flavoured.

And of course both of us having a slight obsession with bananas, they too fell into the mix, and given the nature of this blog, this “ice cream” is healthy, too!

Healthy peach and banana ice cream that doesn’t require an ice cream maker?  I don’t know about you, but I’m sold!

Peach-Banana “Ice Cream”

Prep time: 5 min

Total Time: 3-4 hours

Serves: 2

Ingredients:

1 peach, peeled

1 banana

1/4 c. thick greek yogurt

1/4 c. milk of choice (or more greek yogurt)

1/2 tsp vanilla

pinch of salt

Directions:

Combine all ingredients in a food processor and blend until smooth.  Pour mixture into a container with a tight-sealing lid and place in the freezer for 2-3 hours or until frozen.

Remove container from the freezer and allow to sit at room temperature for 10-15 minute to thaw slightly.  Using a knife or fork, roughly brake up the frozen mixture and return to the food processor.

Pulse the ice cream a few times or until you are able to scoop it up with and ice cream scoop.

~Brittany@twosaucysisters

Do you like ice cream? Are you lucky enough to have an ice cream maker?

About twosaucysisters

We are twin sisters who are on a mission to create delicious, healthy food to help others live healthier, happier lives!

8 responses »

  1. Pingback: A La Mode « twosaucysisters

  2. Ohhhhhh – trying this! Thank you for sharing. And I have the same long list of kitchen dreams 🙂

    Reply
  3. A vitamixer would also make my life complete! I wouldn’t mind an ice cream maker and a zucchini noodle gadget would be sweet!

    Reply
  4. A Vitamix and an ice cream maker are on the top of my list. Kitchenaid makes an ice cream maker attachment for their stand mixer that I am convinced I need to possess.

    My mandolin makes my life complete.

    Reply
    • We have a kitchenaid stand mixer, so the ice cream attachment is definitely the next thing on our list! And I long for a mandolin every time I make zucchini noodles… which is a lot lately…

      Reply

Leave a Reply

