RSS Feed

Guest Post # 1: Michelle from Peachy Palate

Hello friends!

Today for you we have something that is really fun and exciting: Our first-ever guest post! And we are extremely honoured to have one of our favourite bloggers, Michelle, who blogs over at Peachy Palate, writing it for us! If you haven’t checked out her blog yet, you should! Her blog was one of the first that we started reading, and you can be sure that we read it everyday.  She posts the most delectable looking vegan recipes, her food is so good that even the most stubborn carnivore would love it. Other than the fact that she is a vegan and we’re not, we think that we are food triplets. We would love to spend a day (or a week!) with her! Michelle, get ready: we WILL be coming to visit you in Ireland one day! 😉

We know you’ll love her as much as we do!

                                                                                                                                          

Hello readers! My name is Michelle and I’m a vegan healthy living food and fitness blogger over at Peachy Palate! I have a whole heap of vegan recipes (over 300) on my recipage and I make daily endeavours to be keep them steadily coming!

You can find out more about me, my journey to veganism and my recent decision to quit my job and create a whole new life, embracing my passion for food, healthy living and nutrition by visiting the blog.

Julie and Brit kindly asked me to stop by with a little post in their absence while they’re off enjoying cross country training camp so I’ve decided to share one my latest smoothie creations!!!

Let’s deviate a little from food for just a minute…

Do you know how long I’ve been looking for one of these glasses!? Pretty much the whole last year! When I get something in my head, be it a yearning for a piece of dish-ware, item of clothing or more often than not a new ingredient, I simply will not rest until I get my hands on it; like a dog with a bone!

I had almost given up hope of finding the glass of my dreams (quite literally!). I just envisaged it would look so pretty filled with a a delicious smoothie making it all the more incredible to consume (it has to appeal to more than just my taste buds!). I stumbled upon this by chance in a little knick knack shop last week; it was a little dusty it has to be said but nothing a good wash in boiling water couldn’t solve!

Of course I immediately had to whip myself up a fancy pants smoothie to pour in and decided to go with a layered extravaganza!

In one jug a raspberry and almond butter smoothie…in the other a chocolate and banana smoothie… layered up with cacao nibs on top and a sprinkling of coconut…a couple of fresh beautiful raspberries on top and it was complete.

I’m easily excited, at least when it comes to food, but I was pretty chuffed with the outcome.

Two of my favourites combined. A long armed spoon on the side to dig deep and give a bit of a mix up. It was delicious, and of course nutritious! I went with the raspberry and chocolate combo (there were many other layers in the running) after I had a comment on my raspberry and chocolate overnight oats parfait. When I went to post my reply I was reminded of the luscious dreaminess of the combination (the joys of photographing your eats!) and was instantly inspired by my own creation to whip up a smoothie variation; alliteration totally unintended!

Dreamy Chocolate Raspberry Layered Smoothie

Servings – 1

Preparation Time – 5 minutes

Ingredients

Raspberry Smoothie

  • 80ml (1/3 cup) almond milk
  • 1/2 cup frozen raspberries
  • 1 tbsp almond butter

Chocolate Smoothie

  • 125ml (½ cup) almond milk
  • 1 tbsp Dutch unprocessed cocoa powder
  • 1.5 small frozen bananas
  • 1/3 tsp vanilla extract

Toppings

  • 1 tbsp raw cacao nibs
  • 1 tsp desiccated coconut
  • Fresh mint leaves to garnish

 

Directions

  1. Blend together all raspberry smoothie ingredients in one bowl or jug!
  2. Blend together all chocolate smoothie ingredients in another…
  3. Layer up the smoothie in glass, half of the chocolate, all of the raspberry and the rest of the chocolate.
  4. Serve topped with cacao nibs and coconut.

                                                                                                                                                   

Doesn’t that smoothie look unreal?!? We know what we will be having for breakfast the first morning we’re back at home! 😉

Thank you so so much Michelle! We are honoured to have you as a guest writer on our blog, and so happy to have such a wonderful friend in the blogging world! We bet there are probably a lot of 2SS readers out there planning tomorrow’s breakfast, and future visits to Peachy Palate! 🙂

We hope all you lovely people enjoyed reading Michelle’s post as much as we did! Don’t forget to stop by again on Thursday to read Julia‘s post from Fit.Fresh.Food!

-twosaucysisters

About twosaucysisters

We are twin sisters who are on a mission to create delicious, healthy food to help others live healthier, happier lives!

4 responses »

  1. Pingback: How to Make a Dreamy Chocolate Raspberry Layered Smoothie - Decadent Dining Daily

  2. Pingback: WIAW: Eating Out « twosaucysisters

  3. Pingback: And the Beet Goes On « twosaucysisters

  4. I’m ready and waiting for your visit!!! 😉

    Reply

Leave a Reply

